A masterclass in novel writing with Kate Mosse and Maggie O’Farrell | Guardian masterclasses


If you’ve always wanted to grab a pen to write a novel but don’t know where to start, or you’ve been writing for a while but feel like you’ve got lost, this event will give you an overview of the process. creative. writing novels by two award-winning bestselling authors. Together, they will discuss writing techniques to help you begin your story – how to find a character, develop your plot, and differentiate the character’s voice from that of the author. Through a mix of short lectures, discussions, easy-to-follow exercises, informal commentary and a question-and-answer session, this masterclass will help you develop skills that you can incorporate into your own writing, strengthening your work and give you the confidence to move it forward.

Course content:

  • Kate mossé discuss how to develop a character and create a storyline.

  • Maggie O’Farrell discuss the use of point of view, the first pages of a novel and the difference between an author’s voice and that of a character

This course is for …

  • Beginners and writers eager to develop their fiction skills.

  • More established writers looking for an opportunity to refine their authoring voice and find their place in the publishing world.

Tutor profiles

Champion of female creativity, Kate mossé is the founder and director of the Women’s Prize for Fiction – the largest annual celebration of female writing in the world. She received an OBE in 2013 for services to literature and women and was named Woman of the Year for Services to the Arts at the Everywoman Awards. Kate is the author of eight novels and short stories, including the # 1 bestseller The Burning Chambers Series – The Burning Chambers and The City of Tears – as well as the Languedoc trilogy that has sold millions of copies – Labyrinth, Sepulcher and Citadel – and # 1 in the best-selling Gothic Fiction including The Winter Ghosts and The Taxidermist’s Daughter, which she adapted for the stage. His books have been translated into 38 languages ​​and published in more than 40 countries. She has also written four non-fiction works – including An Extra Pair of Hands (Wellcome Collection, 2021) – four plays, contributed essays and introductions to classic novels and collections. She is a regular guest on book and art shows on radio and television. She also writes and presents documentaries.

City of tears by Kate Moss is published by Mantle. To order a copy, go to guardbookshop.com. Delivery charges may apply

Maggie O’Farrell was born in Northern Ireland in 1972, raised in Wales and Scotland and currently lives in Edinburgh. Previously a journalist, she is now the author of eight novels: After You’d Gone, which won a Betty Trask Award, My Lover’s Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions for A Heatwave, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, This Must Be the Place, which was published by Headline in 2016 and shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award. Maggie’s memoir, I Am, I Am, I Am was published in 2017 and has become one of the Sunday Times bestsellers. Her eighth novel Hamnet won the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020, the NBCC Award for Fiction 2020, the 2020 Waterstones’ Book of the Year and was the Fiction Book of the Year at the British Book Awards 2021. Her first children’s book, Where Snow Angels Go, is published by Walker Books. Maggie became a member of the Royal Society of Literature in 2021.

Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell is published by Tinder Press. To order a copy, go to guardbookshop.com. Delivery charges may apply.

You will receive a link to the webinar 1 hour before the 7:00 p.m. start time (BST).

This masterclass is offered to you in partnership with the Women’s Prize Trust. To learn more about the Women’s Prize Trust and Prize, or to subscribe to their newsletter, please visit Women’s Prize Trust website.

If you live in the UK you can buy a ticket with a copy of The Women’s Prize for the Fiction Review at checkout for the combined price of £ 61.29 including postage and packaging (RRP £ 14.99).


Dated: Tuesday, January 11, 2022
: 7 pm-9pm GMT
Price: £ 49 (plus £ 2.66 booking fee) or £ 61.29 for journal + ticket (plus £ 3.18 booking fee)

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live broadcast time.

19h GMT | 8 p.m. CET | 11:00 am PST | 2:00 p.m. EST

Sign up for our newsletter and you will be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitter, and read our latest articles and interviews on our blog.

Guardian Masterclass Information

To contact us, click here. The terms and conditions can be found here.

By registering for this masterclass, you are helping to support the Guardian, and this allows us to keep our quality reporting open to everyone.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible – but please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Return policy

Once the purchase is complete, we will not be able to refund you if you are not present or if you cancel your event reservation. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.


Comments are closed.