Writing and Publishing Your Memoirs: A Practical Weekend Masterclass with Gavin Evans | Guardian Master Classes

0

It is totally untrue that to write a memoir you have to be a former president, a key player or witness to a historical event, or a reality TV star. Some of the most poignant, moving, and funny memoirs were written by people who believed they had something interesting to say and there might be an audience for it.

The process itself starts with an idea – and that’s the easy part, because it’s most likely an idea born out of your personal experiences. But how do you develop these ideas in a way that will keep people reading? This masterclass weekend with Gavin Evans leans on his short dissertation writing courseto invite you to dig a little deeper.

Over the two days, you’ll learn how to grow the seed of your idea into a sentence and then into a page. Drawing on the work of other memoir authors, you will also explore technical aspects of form and style, voice and tone, and time. Gavin will also explain how to structure your work into chapters, and you will have the opportunity to receive personal feedback on your writing from Gavin.

You’ll also learn about the business of publishing and how to ‘sell’ yourself and your story, and you’ll end this weekend course with newfound confidence in your abilities to carry on.

Contents

  • Your memory idea in one sentence

  • Your memory idea in 150 words

  • How to present yourself with voice, tone and time

  • How to structure your story in 15 chapters

  • The Basics of a Good Chapter

  • get published

Tutor profile

Gavin Evans has written eight non-fiction books, including his memoir, Dancing Shoes is Dead, three sports biographies, three popular science books, and a coffee table sports book. He teaches in the Media and Culture department at Birkbeck College, University of London and supervises MA Journalism students at Cardiff University. He has also worked as a journalist for over 30 years and has recently written for the Guardian, New Internationalist, International Business Times, Daily Mirror and BBC History Magazine. He gave a TEDx talk on feminism and fatherhood, which is available here.

Details

Dated: Saturday May 21 and Sunday May 22, 2022
Times: 2pm-5pm (BST)
Price: Standard ticket £249 (plus £7.31 booking fee)
Capacity: 20 people

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live stream time.

14:00 BST | 3pm CEST | 6am PDT | 9 a.m. EDT

You will receive a link to the online workshop two hours before the 2pm (BST) start time.

Sign up for our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitter here.

Guardian Master Class Information

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

Return policy
Once the purchase has been made, we cannot refund you if you do not attend or if you cancel your event reservation. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.

Share.

Comments are closed.